How Long Can You Stay in Japan Without a Visa?

Japan has visa exemption arrangements with several countries. This allows citizens of those countries to enter Japan as “temporary visitors” without having to obtain a visa.

Create an illustration of the Gion district in Kyoto, bustling with a small group of tourists exploring the area. The tourists, a mix of a Black woman, a Hispanic man, and a South Asian couple, are dressed in casual travel attire, contrasting with the traditional wooden facades of the tea houses and shops in the background. The colors of the buildings are vivid and diverse, standing out against the stone-paved street. The ancient and modern collide, with paper lanterns hanging beside discreet neon signs. The scene should spark curiosity with subtle details that suggest a deeper story—perhaps a geisha in the distance, or a shop with an unusual display, inviting viewers to imagine the experiences the tourists are having in this blend of the old and new.

The visa exemption enables passport holders from designated countries to stay in Japan for a set period of time, typically up to 90 days. However, the exact duration varies between specific countries based on reciprocal agreements with Japan.

Countries Eligible for 90 Days Visa-Free Entry

The Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs allows citizens of 70 countries and regions to enter Japan without a visa for short-term stays. The visa exemption enables tourism, visiting family/friends, and other activities without having to apply for a full visitor visa.

Eligible Countries and Allowed Durations

The visa waiver allows stays of up to 90 days for most countries. But some have shorter limits:

  • Brunei – 14 days
  • Indonesia – 15 days
  • Thailand – 15 days
  • United Arab Emirates – 30 days
  • Qatar – 30 days

The full list of eligible nationalities are:


Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan

North America

Canada, United States

Latin America and Caribbean

Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Suriname, Uruguay


Australia, New Zealand

Middle East

Israel, Qatar, Turkey, United Arab Emirates


Lesotho, Mauritius, Tunisia


Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Passport Requirements

Many countries require an ePassport compliant with ICAO standards to use the visa waiver. For others like Barbados and Lesotho, having a machine-readable passport is mandatory. Citizens without the proper passport could be refused entry.

Some visa exemptions like Hong Kong and Macao only apply to residents with special administrative region passports.

Longer Stays

For countries whose citizens can stay 180 days visa-free, those wishing to remain in Japan over 90 days must apply for an extension at a regional immigration bureau.

So in summary, Japan allows short visa-free visits for tourism and other purposes to passport holders from 70 countries. Stays range from 14-90 days depending on the nationality. Travelers should ensure they have the required passport to avoid problems entering Japan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *